Home / Breaking News / Obaseki Takes Lead In Edo Governorship Election

Obaseki Takes Lead In Edo Governorship Election

Incumbent Governor of Edo State, Godwin Obaseki sprung into a commanding lead Sunday morning as the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) started to announce results of polls conducted across the state on Saturday.

As expected by many, Obaseki’s closest challenger is the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu.

The results of 13 local governments have already been announced by the electoral commission with Obaseki, candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party(PDP), clinching 11.

Five local governments’ results are still yet to be released.

A quick summation of the votes awarded to Obaseki in 13 local governments stood at 243,604, while Ize-Iyamu’s was 154,192.


Below is a breakdown of the votes awarded to both main candidates in 13 local governments:

Esan West

APC – 7,189
PDP – 17,434


APC – 18,365
PDP – 43,498

Esan South-East 

APC – 9,237
PDP – 10,563

Etsako West

APC – 26,140
PDP – 17,959

Ovia North-East

APC – 9,907
PDP – 16,987

Owan West

APC – 11,193
PDP – 11,485

Owan East

APC – 19,295
PDP – 14,762


APC – 10,202
PDP – 27,621


APC – 5,972
PDP – 10,022

Ikpoba Okha 

APC – 18,218
PDP – 41,030

Esan Central

APC – 6,719
PDP – 10,794

Esan North-East

APC – 6556
PDP – 13,579

Igueben LG

APC – 5199
PDP – 7870

About The finder

Check Also

2023: Coalition endorses Bala Hussaini for Mubi North, South and Maiha Federal constituency.

A coalition of youth organisations has urged Bala Hussaini to contest a member representing Mubi …

Madi, Adamawa pension boss, wins The Finder most transparent pension administrator award.  

Executive Chairman of Adamawa state Pension board, Thomas Madi, has won this year’s FINDER most …

Presidency Warns Of Plot To Throw Nigeria Into Turmoil, Force Undemocratic Change Of Govt

The presidency has raised an alarm over the plot by some disruptive elements to throw …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: