FG Appoints Governing Councils, Boards for Tertiary Institutions

The federal government has reorganised the boards and councils that oversee the 111 federal colleges, universities, and polytechnics.

The Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) and other interested parties contested the federal government’s release of the reformed governing councils’ membership roster a few weeks earlier, claiming that it was biassed. Consequently, the list was removed from consideration.

However, an additional list with members of the governing councils was provided on Friday by the Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (OSGF).

Reorganisation of federal universities, polytechnics, and colleges of education governing councils and boards has been authorised by President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, in order to ensure efficient administration of all Nigerian postsecondary institutions, according to the announcement.

The list states that Chief Bisi Akande, a former governor of Osun State and all-progressive congressman, was selected by the Nigerian government to lead the governing council of the University of Ibadan (UI) in Oyo State.

In addition to the aforementioned individuals, the governing councils will be chaired by Wole Olanipekun (UNILAG), a distinguished lawyer and Senior Advocate of Nigeria; Isa Yuguda (NOUN), a former governor of Bauchi State; and Yayale Ahmed (ABU), a former secretary to the government of the Federation.

Owerri, Imo State’s Alvan Ikoku Federal University of Education has chosen Senator Joy Emordi to head its council.

The list includes five names for fifty-one universities, thirty-five polytechnics, and twenty-two colleges of education.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: