In a total of nine resignations, two more commissioners have left Fubara’s cabinet.

Two additional commissioners withdrew their resignations, bringing the total number of resignations in the Rivers State Executive Council to nine. This follows the departure of seven colleagues from Governor Siminalayi Fubara’s cabinet.

The most recent resignations were Austen Ben-Chioma, the commissioner for the environment, and Emeka Woke, the commissioner for special projects.

Ben-Chioma was the Commissioner for Urban Development in the immediate previous administration, while Woke was Chief of Staff to former governor and current FCT Minister, Nyesom Wike.

Woke has also held the position of chairman of the Emohua LGA.

Like the first alleged resignation, his is dated November 14, 2023. Professor Zacchaeus Adangor (SAN), who is both the Attorney General and Commissioner for Justice.

“I have decided to retire at this time due to urgent family matters and my wish to give other worthy Rivers residents a chance to serve you and the state in that role,” Woke wrote in his letter.

Like the other members of the departing cabinet, Ben-Chioma’s letter is dated December 15, 2023.

Additionally, he emphasised that his resignation was motivated by personal matters.

Professor Zacchaeus Adangor, the state’s attorney general and commissioner for justice, together with commissioners George-Kelly Alabo for works, Inime Aguma for social welfare and rehabilitation, and Isaac Kamalu for finance, all resigned earlier.

In addition, there is Gift Worlu, the State Commissioner for Housing; Prof. Prince Chinedu, the State Commissioner for Education; and Dr. Jacobson B. Nbina, the Commissioner of Transportation.

Since the political crisis in Rivers State escalated, the public has been informed about the resignations of these nine commissioners.

Before the last round of resignations, one commissioner—Henry Ogiri—oversaw the Ministry of Power. In November, he resigned to accept a federal appointment to the National Population Commission.

Assuming more members of the cabinet have not yet resigned, the number of commissioners remaining in the Rivers State government is now approximately 8.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: